Ashley Luke Named Summit League 'Newcomer of the Year'
Courtesy: Western Illinois Athletics  
Release: Monday 03/08/2013
Share |

ELMHURST, Ill. - Western Illinois Redshirt-freshman Ashley Luke was named the Summit League's women's basketball 'Newcomer of the Year,' as well as Second Team All-Summit League and All-Newcomer Team, the conference announced on Thursday afternoon.

Luke becomes the program's sixth-ever and third straight Newcomer of the Year, after Saule Kontautaite won the award last season and Sadie Webb won in 2010-11.

During conference play, Luke ranked among the league leaders in a number of categories. She finished the year second in rebounding (8.0 rpg), tied for ninth in scoring (12.9 ppg), and fourth in blocks (1.1 bpg) and shooting percentage (49.7 percent) in conference games.

Her Second Team honor is also the second straight year a Leatherneck has received a First or Second Team award, after a three-year period without any such honorees.

Luke also becomes the program's 13th member of an All-Newcomer Team and 12th-ever Second Team recipient.

Luke and the fifth-seeded Leathernecks will be back in action on Sunday at noon to take on fourth-seeded Fort Wayne in the quarterfinals of the Summit League Tournament. Full Summit League Tournament coverage will be provided on


All-League First Team

Ashley Eide, South Dakota State

Paige Frauendorfer, Omaha

Amanda Hyde, Fort Wayne

Kerah Nelson, IUPUI

Eilise O'Connor, Kansas City

Megan Waytashek, South Dakota State

All-League Second Team

Katie Birkel, North Dakota State

Dani DeGagne, North Dakota State

DeAirra Goss, IUPUI

Ashley Luke, Western Illinois

Tempestt Wilson, South Dakota

All-League Honorable Mention

Carolyn Blair-Mobley, Omaha

Erin Murphy, Fort Wayne

Jamie Nash, Omaha

Elena Popkey, Oakland

Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota

All-Newcomer Team

Carolyn Blair-Mobley, Omaha

DeAirra Goss, IUPUI

Ashley Luke, Western Illinois

Elena Popkey, Oakland

Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota

Player of the Year: Amanda Hyde, Fort Wayne

Defensive Player of the Year: Dee-Dee Bellamy, IUPUI

Sixth Woman of the Year: Katie Lingle, South Dakota State

Newcomer of the Year: Ashley Luke, Western Illinois

Coach of the Year: Austin Parkinson, IUPUI




Waste Management
WIU Basketball-Women's


Rocky Vision

BullDog Image