Play Video
View larger
Tyler Yelk goes through instruction during a special teams session.
Courtesy: Patrick Osterman/Western Illinois Athletics
Tyler Yelk goes through instruction during a special teams session.
Leathernecks Continue Spring Football on Thursday
Courtesy: Western Illinois Athletics  
Release: Sunday 03/28/2013
Share |

Western Illinois Football worked out for the second straight day at Hanson Field, the fourth practice of the spring season. The Leathernecks will take to the field again on Friday afternoon.

DEFENSIVE BACKS INTERVIEW: On the latest edition of Leatherneck spring football preview, defensive backs coach Tyler Yelk talks about his transition from Minnesota-Duluth and having played for and coached with Bob Nielson. Junior safety Jonathon Rollins discusses the secondary and looking ahead to this summer and 2013 season.

GOLF OUTING OPENINGS AVAILABLE: The spring season will conclude on Friday, April 19 with the annual Bruce Craddock Memorial Spring Game, and there is a Leatherneck Football Golf Outing set for Saturday, April 20. Events surrounding the spring football game begin Friday night at 5 p.m. with a tailgate party at Hanson Field. Following the spring game – starting at 7 p.m. – a postgame social will be held. On Saturday, the Leatherneck Football Golf Outing will take place at the Harry Mussatto Golf Course. Lunch begins at 12:30 with a 2 p.m. start. The 4-person best ball scramble costs $60 per person, which includes a cart and 18 holes. A silent auction will take place following the outing, and awards will also be handed out following the event. For additional information or to sign up, log onto GoLeathernecks.com or call the athletics department at (309) 298-1190.


Spring 2013 Practice Schedule
Friday, March 29
Monday, April 1
Wednesday, April 3
Friday, April 5
Saturday, April 6
Monday, April 8
Wednesday, April 10
Friday, April 12
Monday, April 15
Wednesday, April 17
Friday, April 19 - Bruce Craddock Memorial Spring Game, 7 p.m.

#WIUAthletics


WIU Football


advertisement

Rocky Vision


BullDog Image