View larger
Aaron Michel (top left), Neil DeCook (bottom left), Steve Kedroski (top right), Jameson Henning (bottom right).
Courtesy: WIU Visual Productions Center
Aaron Michel (top left), Neil DeCook (bottom left), Steve Kedroski (top right), Jameson Henning (bottom right).
Four Leathernecks Earn All-League Honors
Courtesy: Western Illinois Athletics  
Release: Monday 05/22/2013
Share |

– The Summit League announced its annual All-League teams on Wednesday evening (May 22) with four Leathernecks being named All-Conference. Jameson Henning received First Team All-Summit League honors while Neil DeCook, Steve Kedroski and Aaron Michel received Second Team All-League honors.

The four players selected to the All-League teams are the most for a Leatherneck baseball team since 2006 and also the first league honors for all four players.

Redshirt-freshman Jameson Henning was named First Team All-League after his play at shortstop this season. Henning is the first Leatherneck to be named First Team All-Conference since 2008 when Drew Laidig was selected to the First Team.

The Janesville, Wisc. native his .305 overall this season and .323 in conference play. He finished the season with 53 hits, 25 RBI and 23 runs scored in 46 games played. Henning also had a team best 15-game hitting streak during the season.

Senior Steve Kedroski picked up Second Team All-Summit honors at first base. The Crystal Lake, Ill. native hit .288 this season with a team high 26 RBI and 10 doubles. He also recorded 53 hits overall this season and was tied for the team lead with three home runs. In conference play Kedroski hit .306 and scored 11 runs for the Purple & Gold.

Junior transfer Neil DeCook received Second Team All-League honors for his play in the outfield this season. The Kankakee, Ill. native played in 47-games in his first season in a Leatherneck uniform and ended the year with a .304 overall batting average and 42 hits. DeCook hit a team best .370 in conference play and also has a .472 batting average in his last 10 games.  

True-freshman pitcher Aaron Michel was also named Second Team All-League for the immediate impact he made on the Leatherneck pitching staff this season. The Decatur, Ill. native appeared in 20-games on the mound and had a league leading 1.25 ERA overall this season and 1.00 ERA in league play. Michel was named Summit League ‘Co-Pitcher of the Week’ on April 29th of this year and is currently sixth nationally in ERA and third nationally in hits allowed per-game with a 5.31 average.

To view the full Summit League Release click HERE.

The Leathernecks begin conference tournament play tomorrow (May 23) as they square off against South Dakota State at noon ET. The double elimination tournament continues through Saturday with the champion advancing to an NCAA Regional.


                         Steve Kedroski                  Neil DeCook                         Aaron Michel                Jameson Henning



First Team
Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Cory Buckley, Omaha 1B Sr. Bellevue, Neb.
Wes Satzinger, North Dakota State 2B Jr. Andover, Minn.
Tyler Splichal, Omaha 3B Jr. Bellevue, Neb.
Jameson Henning, Western Illinois SS Fr. Janesville, Wis.
Tim Colwell, North Dakota State OF Jr. Shoreview, Minn.
Ryan Keele, Omaha OF Sr. Bellevue, Neb.
Kyle Kleinendorst, North Dakota State OF Jr. Grand Rapids, Minn.
Alex Mortensen, Omaha C So. Omaha, Neb.
Daniel Telford, South Dakota State DH Sr. Newmarket, Ontario
Jon Hechtner, North Dakota State UTL Fr. Omaha, Neb.
Stephen Bougher, South Dakota State SP Sr. Papillion, Neb.
Jason Hager, Oakland SP Jr. Swartz Creek, Mich.
Layne Somsen, South Dakota State SP Sr. Yankton, S.D.
Russell Luxton, Jr., Oakland RP Sr. Oxford, Mich.
Second Team
Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Steve Kedroski, Western Illinois 1B Sr. Crystal Lake, Ill.
Clayton Taylor, Omaha 2B Fr. Omaha, Neb.
John Skrbec, North Dakota State 3B So. Grand Rapids, Minn.
Clay Hathaway, Fort Wayne SS Sr. Show Low, Ariz.
Neil DeCook, Western Illinois OF Jr. Kankakee, Ill.
Robby Enslen, Oakland OF So. Middleville, Mich.
Tyler Shepherd, Fort Wayne OF Jr. Tracy, Calif.
Caleb Fenimore, Fort Wayne C Jr. Rushville, Ind.
Brett Bass, Omaha DH Jr. Omaha, Neb.
Steve Lowden, Fort Wayne UTL Jr. Fort Wayne, Ind.
Adam Bray, South Dakota State SP So. Eden Prairie, Minn.
Aaron Michel, Western Illinois SP Fr. Decatur, Ill.
John Straka, North Dakota State SP Sr. Chaska, Minn.
J.D. Moore, South Dakota State RP So. Mississauga, Ontario
Player of the Year: Ryan Keele, Omaha
Pitcher of the Year: Layne Somsen, South Dakota State
Newcomer of the Year: Ryan Keele, Omaha
Coach of the Year: Bob Herold, Omaha


WIU Baseball


Rocky Vision

BullDog Image